Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.

Former champion Zach Johnson's lackluster Masters campaign got downright embarrassing at the 13th hole on Friday, where the American knocked his ball off the tee with a practice swing.

Ultimately, Johnson did not need to take a penalty stroke because he had not meant to hit the ball and it was not yet in play.

The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a flawless drive down the middle of the fairway. However, because the rules state a ball is not in play until after the tee shot, Johnson was able to re-tee it and hit away.

The 2007 champion was practising his swing, but he ended up getting a little too close and clipped it which ended up bouncing off a tee marker.

Marcus Smart officially out four to six weeks with torn oblique
Smart, 25, is averaging 8.9 points, four assists and 2.9 rebounds this season, but what he does goes far beyond the numbers. Smart would sustain the injury against the Orlando Magic on Sunday and was forced out of game action because of it.

India's Jet Airways halts all flights to and from Singapore
Another man, travelling with his wife and five-month-old daughter said the airline told him there is nothing they can do for him. Lenders, led by State Bank of India (SBI), want a new investor to acquire a stake of up to 75 percent in the airline.

Son of sheriff's deputy burned 3 black churches, authorities say
An Associated Press reporter was turned away Thursday from what was believed to be the home the suspect shared with his parents. Matthews was interested in " black metal " music, authorities said, which has been linked to notorious church fires in Norway.

"Oh s--!" Johnson said immediately.

You guessed it, four shots and 510 yards later, Johnson sunk a birdie putt to take him to within one of level par.

"I can't think of a time I've done it - not on objective", Johnson said of hitting the ball during a practice swing.

Johnson finished with a one-over par 73 in the second round and is at 3-over for the tournament. "I don't think I could do it again if I tried".

"I actually hit a really good tee shot after that, so I think I recovered nicely", he said, although he noted that playing partner Matt Kuchar would likely not let him forget the gaffe.

Related Articles